Kurdish political prisoner Abdul Aziz Mohammadpour has been sentenced to five years in prison by Branch 2 of the Orumiyeh Revolutionary Court on charges of “acting against national security” through membership in the Komala Party, a reliable source told the Kurdistan Human Rights Network (KHRN).

Trial of this political prisoners was held on Nov 23, 2020, with 4 other political prisoners, namely Masood (Naib) Hajipour, Kamran Ghasemi, Keyvan Rashozadeh and Omid Saeedi, at the branch 2 of the Revolutionary Court and the court’s verdict was served on them at the prison.

Earlier, KHRN published a report stating that Kamran Ghasemi, Keyvan Rashozadeh and Omid Saeedi were each sentenced to 10 years and one day in prison while Masood (Naib) Hajipour was sentenced to five years in prison.

These civilians were arrested by the security forces on October 8, 2019, and were then transferred to the Ministry of Intelligence detention centre in Orumiyeh. They were transferred to the youth ward of Orumiyeh Central Prison after a month of interrogation. Among these prisoners, Hajipour is held in dormitory 1-2 while Abdol Aziz Mohammadpour is held in dormitory 3 and the remaining 3 prisoners are held in the youth ward.